Posts Tagged ‘Safe’
In the last few years, many states have toughened existing DUI/DWI laws in the effort to lower traffic fatalities and appease interest groups, such as MADD, otherwise known as Mothers Against Drunk Driving. Other states, have weakened DUI/DWI penalties. I will take a look at an example of both today for you.
In order to receive a DUI in all 50 states, one must blow a .08 BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) and/or fail a sobriety test. This is a constant among all 50 states; however, every state persecutes DUI penalty breakers differently. Some have toughened penalties due to rising fatalities, influence from politicians or interest groups; others have weakened penalties in order to ease overcrowding in jails for more violent offenders.
All states penalize first time offenders with some sort of jail time, with different levels of fines, depending on the city, county, and severity of the DUI (evading police, resisting arrest, injury/fatality, etc). It’s the penalization of 2nd, 3rd, and 4th time offenders that varies differently from state to state.
Colorado, for instance, automatically required to stay in jail for a first time DUI conviction. 2nd time DUI convictions earn the offender a 10-day minimum jail term, 3rd time and subsequent offenders receive a minimum 60-day jail sentence, with the severity getting steeper depending on the frequency (time between) DUI convictions and severity of the offense. In addition, repeat offenders no longer are required to wear an ankle bracelet, they either have to serve the jail time or go to a work release program, if applicable.
Florida, on the other hand, changed the penalty for 4th time offenders. Originally, 4th time offenders were permanently banned from receiving a driver’s license in the state. As long as there is no manslaughter in the conviction, a four time offender will have to wait through a 10-year no driving period in order to possibly receive driving privileges. If driving privileges are reinstated after the 10-year waiting period for a DUI conviction, then the state of Florida will reinstate the license with a limited or restricted driver’s license. Reinstatement of the license depends on the vehicle driving history and severity of the conviction. Also, an alcohol treatment program must be attended within the first six-months of the reinstatement of a driver’s license in the state of Florida.
No matter what state you drive in, be aware that DUI/DWI laws will almost always certainly involve jail time, large fines, and attorney fees from having to defend yourself in court. For more information on DUI/DWI laws, visit www.4DMV.com.
If you are visiting the U.S. for the first time or are not aware of the U.S. driving rules then you have come to the right place. Here you will learn the important basics, which will guide you so that you may drive America’s roads legally and safely. Other than the safety laws, it is also important to acknowledge about temporary insurance and international driver’s license so that you prepare yourself completely, before getting behind the wheel.
First of all it is important to know that in the U.S. every state has its own road rules. You can easily find some different laws among the 50 states but it can be said that most of the rules do not vary among them. If you are concerned about speeding, then you would like to know that the maximum driving speed limit in most of the states is 65 mph. This speed limit shouldn’t be considered over the road signs, indicating lower speeds.
Moreover speeding, age limit is also a factor to take in notice. In majority of the states, the minimum drivers’ age limit is 16 but some states do not allow drivers under the age of 18 to drive during certain times of the day. Seatbelt requirements in the U.S. should also be acknowledged as they may be different than the requirements implied by other different countries. Most of the states have enforced the driver and front passenger to fasten seat belts. Not only front passengers, but children should also be protected by seat belts. Some states’ road laws have made it compulsory for the drivers to install a special child restraint for the protection of minors.
If you are reading blogs to avoid heavy penalties, then make sure you avoid these two acts while on road; firstly, do not drink when driving, it is strictly prohibited in every state, with the maximum BAC allowable .08. Secondly, be known that the speeding limit can lower to 15 mph if you are driving in a school zone. It is not necessarily written anywhere, but the obvious way to recognize the condition is the time when you see the warning lights flash. Lower your speed as soon as you see the warning or get ready for a huge penalty. Other than lowering the speed, law also enforces traffic in both directions to stop for the benefit of school busses.
Once you are aware of all the safety rules, other things which may stop you from driving in the U.S. might be vehicle insurance and driver’s license. Usually both the things are not that difficult to attain but when a person is visiting a country temporarily, then it is fair for him to struggle for them. But that is until he is aware of the temporary car insurance and international driver’s license. If you are planning to visit the U.S. or temporarily solve the license and vehicle insurance ordeal then considering both ways is the best move you would make. A temporary insurance might be available for a time period ranging from 1 day to 28 days; this fulfills one requirement, applying for international driver’s license has nothing to do with the word “new”. It has the same normal licensing procedure.
Of course, it takes a lot of patience and energy to drive after a long flight and double the efforts when they are performed in a place where you are visiting for the first time. It is suggested that get some rest before taking over the wheel. Also remember that overtaking is not prohibited in the U.S. Other important thing to remember is that you have to drive on the right hand side of the road and you do that while being on the left hand side of the vehicle. The difference felt will be the distance on the left hand side while the car’s width will be on the right hand side.