Posts Tagged ‘license’
DriversEd.com Approved in State of Georgia: Rapid National Enrollment Fuels Company Growth
DriversEd.com has been approved by the state of Georgia to provide teens seeking their first license a DDS (Georgia Department of Drivers Services) recognized certificate-of-completion of drivers education.
DriversEd.com, the nations’ leader in online drivers education , has been approved by the state of Georgia to provide teens seeking their first license a DDS (Georgia Department of Drivers Services) recognized certificate-of-completion of drivers education.
Georgia requires all applicants be at least 16 years old, have held a learner permit for a year and a day and as of January 1, 2007, a state approved driver’s education course certificate-of-completion in compliance with Joshua’s Law. DriversEd.com provides a Georgia specific course that satisfies the mandated requirements of the in-class theoretical portion of drivers education, all online.
“Senate Bill 226, also known as ‘Joshua’s Law,’ mandates that all applicants under the age of 17 complete a state-of-Georgia recognized driver education course along with a total of 40 hours of supervised driving,” says DriversEd.com founder Gary Tsifrin. “A certificate-of-completion from a drivers education school such as DriversEd.com is mandatory and students must score at least 80% in the final exam.”
Teens can take the DriversEd.com course on their own computer at their own pace. It’s comprehensive and designed to help students become safe, confident and defensive drivers. The curriculum takes into account how teens learn — students use interactive video and animations about real on-the-road scenarios. New drivers can prepare for the written test by taking up to 50 online practice tests online and can re-take the final test until they pass.
What else can you do on DriversEd.com?
- Learners Permit Preparation: courses available for all fifty states
- Practice Tests: offered in English, Chinese and Spanish
- MyDMV: your department of motor vehicle resource
- Drivers Training: get behind-the-wheel
- WebTrafficSchool: traffic school, ticket dismissal and defensive driving course
- Game Zone: have fun while learning some of the rules of the road
- MyCars: Cars.com-DriversEd.com new and used auto purchasing program
- I Am Not a Statistic awareness campaign; don’t be a statistic, don’t drink and drive
DriversEd.com is the first company to bring drivers education online. Developed in 2003, the all online course has over a million users: http://www.driversed.com/ — “click.” enroll in DriversEd.com, “learn.” do your drivers ed, “drive.” get behind-the-wheel. In addition to Georgia, the course is available to first time drivers in California, Nevada, Texas, Colorado, Oklahoma, Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Florida.
Note to Editors:
DriversEd.com is an approved provider of driver education for the state of Georgia: License #DT397. Course link: http://www.driversed.com/courses/drivers-ed/Georgia-Drivers-Education.aspx?state=GA
Joshua’s Law explained online at: dds.ga.gov/Joshua/index.aspx
# # #
georgia department of motor vehicles
In the last few years, many states have toughened existing DUI/DWI laws in the effort to lower traffic fatalities and appease interest groups, such as MADD, otherwise known as Mothers Against Drunk Driving. Other states, have weakened DUI/DWI penalties. I will take a look at an example of both today for you.
In order to receive a DUI in all 50 states, one must blow a .08 BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) and/or fail a sobriety test. This is a constant among all 50 states; however, every state persecutes DUI penalty breakers differently. Some have toughened penalties due to rising fatalities, influence from politicians or interest groups; others have weakened penalties in order to ease overcrowding in jails for more violent offenders.
All states penalize first time offenders with some sort of jail time, with different levels of fines, depending on the city, county, and severity of the DUI (evading police, resisting arrest, injury/fatality, etc). It’s the penalization of 2nd, 3rd, and 4th time offenders that varies differently from state to state.
Colorado, for instance, automatically required to stay in jail for a first time DUI conviction. 2nd time DUI convictions earn the offender a 10-day minimum jail term, 3rd time and subsequent offenders receive a minimum 60-day jail sentence, with the severity getting steeper depending on the frequency (time between) DUI convictions and severity of the offense. In addition, repeat offenders no longer are required to wear an ankle bracelet, they either have to serve the jail time or go to a work release program, if applicable.
Florida, on the other hand, changed the penalty for 4th time offenders. Originally, 4th time offenders were permanently banned from receiving a driver’s license in the state. As long as there is no manslaughter in the conviction, a four time offender will have to wait through a 10-year no driving period in order to possibly receive driving privileges. If driving privileges are reinstated after the 10-year waiting period for a DUI conviction, then the state of Florida will reinstate the license with a limited or restricted driver’s license. Reinstatement of the license depends on the vehicle driving history and severity of the conviction. Also, an alcohol treatment program must be attended within the first six-months of the reinstatement of a driver’s license in the state of Florida.
No matter what state you drive in, be aware that DUI/DWI laws will almost always certainly involve jail time, large fines, and attorney fees from having to defend yourself in court. For more information on DUI/DWI laws, visit www.4DMV.com.